Books of the Law read and compare multiple versions of the Bible


authorship, audience, history

The “Books of the Law” (a.k.a., “Books of the Moses,” “Pentateuch,” or “Torah”) contain the first five books of the Bible. Traditionally attributed to Moses, they were written around 1400 to 1200 BC.

These books were originally intended for the Israelites, chronicling their journey and outlining their unique covenant with God. However, it resonates with universal truths and human experiences that connect us all to God’s overarching plan.


living in relationship with God and to His glory

The Books of the Law introduce essential themes like creation, sin, and redemption that reverberate throughout the Scriptures. While these books seem to set an unrealistically high standard for humanity with their emphasis on obedience, ethical conduct, and worship, the Law exposes our inability to achieve righteousness on our own, pointing us to our need for a Savior. In Christ, the demands of the Law are fulfilled (not abolished), enabling us to live lives that truly glorify God through the power of the Holy Spirit.

The Books of the Law reveal God as an intimately involved Creator and the Sovereign Lord, emphasizing His holiness, justice, and love. The Holy Spirit’s role in empowerment and guidance is introduced, and the need for a Messiah is foreshadowed through symbols and prophecies. Together, they paint a picture of a God who desires a covenant relationship with His people.

The Books of the Law teach the importance of constant, intimate connection with God during our daily life. They point to our need for repentance and God’s grace to maintain that connection. They encourage alignment with His infinite wisdom and to glorify God through faith.

Key verses: Genesis 1:1–2; Deuteronomy 4:39–40; Leviticus 11:44–45; Numbers 11:24–29; Exodus 33:13–17; Deuteronomy 30:1–11; Genesis 3:14–15; Deuteronomy 10:12–21; Leviticus 26:40–46; Deuteronomy 6:4–9


books included in the Old Testament

  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Leviticus
  4. Numbers
  5. Deuteronomy